February’s Top 10

Here’s 10 things that really rocked my world this month (in no particular order):

1. Grey’s Anatomy

Although this isn’t technically just from this month, I’m still relishing in its brilliance so it counts. I’m currently scouring my way through the seventh season. Derek and Meredith: yes. Cristina and Owen: yes. Meredith and Cristina’s friendship: yes. I’m really liking the way things are going. It definitely gives me something to look forward to every time I begin a new episode. (Side note: Shonda Rhimes basically runs television these days, and I want to be just like her.)

greys gif

2. Lady Gaga’s Oscar Performance

OMGOMGOMG. If you haven’t watched Lady Gaga’s touching tribute to The Sound of Music from the Oscars – GET ON IT. She showcased her immense talent that is typically masked by the fact that she’s kind of crazy, which left me and everyone everywhere starstruck. (Also, she got engaged this month so good for her! Taylor Kinney is a babe.) Here’s the amazing performance:

3. Shantel VanSanten

I recently met the One Tree Hill actress in Austin, and let me tell you, she’s as nice in person as she looks on TV/social media. We met at a hotel for a meet and greet after the Lung Force Walk in Austin, which she was a huge factor in its happening, was cancelled due to weather conditions. She was too sweet to offer the chance to meet her regardless of whether the walk was happening or not. We bonded over the fact that she went to TCU (approx. 10 minutes from where I grew up) and that she studied journalism (MY MAJOR OMG). I informed her of my unhealthy obsession with OTH and she said that she and her bf have the same obsession with FRIENDS. Celebs are real people just like us and love Netflix to the same crazy extent the rest of us do. Good to know.

IMG_1410

4. New Noah Ritter on Ellen

Noah Ritter, the cutest red headed child who captured my heart after his first appearance on The Ellen Show last year, made another appearance recently. It was as good as ever. Noah, if you’re reading this (which you’re probs not because you’re 6): I LOVE YOU.

5. Old Facebook Statuses

They just don’t make them like they used to. One day you’re begging for people to text you and writing dramatic song lyrics that you probably don’t know the meaning of and the next you’re just sharing blog posts and begging for people to read about the crazy things you like. Dramatic-Middle-School-Kayla, you are missed, but your memory will last on forever (literally) on FB.

Screen Shot 2015-02-28 at 8.05.07 PM

 

Screen Shot 2015-02-28 at 8.06.38 PM

 

(Clearly in 2009, I had no friends)

6. Spotify

I am a diehard iTunes girl. However, Spotify is free. Therefore, I don’t have to buy the random songs I want to listen to for some random reason on some random day. It’s a glorious thing that prevents all sense of randomness in my iTunes library. Even though Taylor [Swift] doesn’t appreciate it, I do – and that’s saying A LOT.

spotify tay

7. (speaking of Taylor) Taylor & Karlie’s Vogue Cover

Taylor Swift. Karlie Kloss. Vogue. Literally, the greatest thing since sliced bread. They are the best best friends there ever were. (Until me & Tay meet, at least.) They are so perf and if I could be just like them when I grow up life would be miraculous. If you’re wondering why I’m a journalism major, read their story. Can’t wait for the moment that I get to hang out with them over a series of months and write a huge feature on them. Until then, I’ll continue to fangirl and tell everyone that I am, in fact, Taylor’s bestie. (She just doesn’t know it yet…)

tswift and karlie

8. Lips Of An Angel // Hinder

This is so weird. I’ve had the biggest addiction to this song recently. It’s been in my iTunes library since 2008, but since it came on shuffle a few weeks ago I haven’t been able to stop listening to it. Something about the rock ballad and the lead singers uncanny resemblance to Steven Tyler keeps me coming back for more. I don’t have a single idea where Hinder is these days, but if they ever want to stop by and sing this for me – I’d be down.

9. The University of Texas

SURPRISE, I’ve found myself thoroughly enjoying school, thus far, this semester. School and happiness are what you make of them and I’ve decided to pair the two together. Couldn’t be happier about being a Texas Longhorn and finding my way to what’s to come. Let’s go, Life, throw it my way.

matt at ut game

10. Adam Levine & Behati Prinsloo

I don’t know y’all. They were just perfect together at The Oscar’s and I can’t get ‘Sugar’ out of my head and he’s beautiful and she’s beautiful and they are the epitome of celebrity power couple. (Since JT and Brit, of course.) Y’all keep doing y’all and make the rest of us feel like inferior beings – we actually enjoy it.

Adam-Levine-Behati-Oscars-467

One thought on “February’s Top 10”

Leave a comment